to Content
Header Image

Executive Board

Andreas Treichl was elected President of the European Forum Alpbach on 12 November 2020. Together with a team of international experts, he is responsible for the orientation and strategy of the association.

From 2012 to 2020 the European Forum Alpbach was headed by Franz Fischler and his Vice Presidents Caspar Einem, Sonja Puntscher-Riekmann and Claus Raidl.

Our honorary presidents: Erhard Busek, Franz Fischler, Heinrich Pfusterschmid-Hardtenstein


Andreas Treichl, President
Andreas Treichl is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Erste-Stiftung. He was long-standing CEO of Erste-Group.
Michaela Fritz, Vice President
Michaela Fritz is Vice Rector for Research and Innovation at the Medical University of Vienna.
Florence Gaub, Vice President
Florence Gaub is a researcher in the field of military sociology and Deputy Director of the European Union Institute for Security Studies in Paris (EUISS).
Katja Gentinetta, Vice President
Katja Gentinetta is a political philosopher, business columnist and university lecturer.
Katarzyna Pisarska,Vice President
Katarzyna Pisarska is Director of the European Academy of Diplomacy in Warsaw and Programme Director of the Warsaw Security Forum.
Marie Ringler, Vice President
Marie Ringler is the European head of the world’s largest network for social entrepreneurs, Ashoka.


Andreas Bierwirth, Finanzreferent
Andreas Bierwirth is CEO of Magenta Telekom, trained professional pilot and active in various supervisory board functions.
Irene Giner-Reichl
Irene Giner-Reichl is an Austrian diplomat (retired), president of the Global Forum on Sustainable Energy and founding member of the Global Women’s Network for the Energy Transition.
Caroline Hornstein-Tomić
Caroline Hornstein-Tomić, PhD is a Senior Researcher (Sociology & Anthropology) at the Insitute of Social Sciences Ivo Pilar / Zagreb and Co-founder & Managing Partner of THE CIVICS Innovation Hub.
Winfried Kneip
Winfried Kneip is Senior Education Consultant and former Director of Educational Affairs at Stiftung Mercator.


Boris Marte
Boris Marte ist CEO der ERSTE Stiftung.
Valerie Hengl, FAN
Valerie Hengl is Chair of the Forum Alpbach Network Board.
Tobias Neugebauer, FAN
Tobias Neugebauer is member of the Forum Alpbach Network Board.


Photo credits: Luiza Puiu, IWM Martin Hörmandinger (Shalini Randeria) and Bogdan Baraghin (Valerie Hengl, Tobias Neugebauer)