to Content
Header Image

Alpbach-Laxenburg Group

In August, IIASA Leadership and Researchers will join World Leaders and academics in Alpbach, Austria to discuss the most pressing problems of our time, Including implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals, at a meeting of the Alpbach-Laxenburg-Group.

As Strategic Partners, IIASA and the European Forum Alpbach (EFA) launched the Alpbach-Laxenburg Group  in 2013. This group held a high-level retreat during the Political Symposium of the 2014 Alpbach Forum, to debate the global issues of sustainable development, with at initial focus on inequality and equity.

This year leading minds from academia, Governments, business, civil society, and the arts returned to Alpbach for a second high-level retreat from 30 August to 1 September. The agenda will focus on supporting the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals, due to be later this year ADOPTED. IIASA recently launched The World 2050 project, in collaboration with the Stockholm Resilience Centre, Earth Institute Columbia University, and The Sustainable Development Network Solutions, Which AIMS to Provide Integrated assessments to address the full spectrum of sustainable development challenges.

The retreat will coincide with the Political Symposium of the European Forum Alpbach, and participants from the Alpbach-Laxenburg Group Retreat will present Their discussions in the closing plenary sessions of the symposium.

The European Forum Alpbach brings together participants from all over the world and from different disciplines, and IIASA scientists Participated in a number of events – detailed here.

Programme Alpbach-Laxenburg-Group Retreat 2015

These persons took part in the retreat during the European Forum Alpbach 2014.

  • H.E. Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Former Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission for the Government of India
  • Ian Chubb, Chief Scientist of Australia and Professor of Biology
  • Jining Chen, President of Tsinghua University, China
  • Robbert Dijkgraaf, Director and Leon Levy Professor of the Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton, USA
  • Franz Fischler, President of the European Forum Alpbach, former European Union Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development and Fisheries and former Austrian Federal Minister for Agriculture and Forestry
  • H.E. Tarja Halonen, Former President of Finland
  • Clemens Hellsberg, President of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Austria
  • Pavel Kabat, Director General and Chief Executive Officer of IIASA, member of the Leadership Council for the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network and Professor of Earth System Science at Wageningen University
  • Pascal Lamy, Former Director General of the World Trade Organisation, former European Commissioner for Trade and Honorary President of the Notre Europe –Jacques Delors Institute, France
  • H.E. János Martonyi, Former Minister for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Hungary
  • H.E. Mary Robinson, Former President of Ireland and Chair of the Institute for Human Rights and Business, United Kingdom
  • Jeffrey Sachs, Director of the Earth Institute, Columbia University, Director of the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network and Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary General, Ban Ki-Moon
  • Péter Balás, Head of the EU Group for Ukraine and former Deputy Director General of DG Trade for the European Commission
  • Chin-Min Lee, Special Advisor to the IIASA Director General and CEO, IIASA
  • Wolfgang Lutz, IIASA Program Director for World Population, Founder and Director of the Wittgenstein Centre for Demography and Global Human Capital and Professor of Applied Statistics at the Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration
  • Nebojsa Nakicenovic, Deputy Director General and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of IIASA, Professor of Energy Economics at the Vienna University of Technology and Director of Global Energy Assessment
  • Philippe Narval, Managing Director of the European Forum Alpbach
  • Kalypso Nicolaidis, Professor of International Relations and Director of the European Studies Center at Oxford University
  • Sonja Puntscher Riekmann, Vice President, European Forum Alpbach; Head and Professor, Salzburg Centre of European Union Studies, Paris Lodron University Salzburg
  • Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth, Vice President, European Forum Alpbach; Professor and Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, Medical University of Vienna
  • Björn Stigson, Former President of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and Special Advisor to the IIASA Director General and Chief Executive Officer
  • Vladimir Šucha, Director General of the Joint Research Center(JRC) of the European Commission and Professor at Comenius University Bratislava
  • Miroslav Veskovic; Rektor of the University of Novisad
  • Jan Zielonka, Professor of European Politics, University of Oxford; Ralf Dahrendorf Professorial Fellow, St Antony’s College, Oxford


Conceptual_note by Shonali Pachuari and Narasimha Rao_on_Energy_Inequality

Conceptual_note by Wolfgang Lutz on_educational_inequalities

Declaration of the Alpbach-Laxenburg Group August 26, 2014 (Engl.)

More details: