to Content
Header Image

Selection of International Speakers

Hundreds of international speakers from academia, economics, politics, culture, and civil society will transform the Tyrolean mountain village of Alpbach into the European summer capital of discourse.

Here’s a first glimpse of the international guests of this year’s forum (selection):

Seminar Week, August 17 to 24, 2016
Andreas Pečar (DE), Professor of Early Modern European History, Martin-Luther-University, Halle; Kwesi Aning (GH), Director, Faculty of Academic Affairs and Research, KAIPTC – Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre, Accra; Rita Colwell (US), Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, University of Maryland, Pierre Vimont (FR), Senior Associate, Carnegie Europe; Former Executive Secretary-General, EEAS – European External Action Service, Brussels

Tyrol Days/Opening Ceremony of the Congress Center Alpbach, August 20 to 21, 2016
Jean-Claude Juncker (LU), President, European Commission; Pankaj Mishra (IN), Indian writer and political essayist

Health Symposium, August 21 to 23, 2016
Leroy Hood (US), President and Co-Founder, Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle; Teppo Järvinen (UK), Clinical Professor, University of Helsinki

Higher Education Symposium, August 24, 2016
Alan I. Leshner (CA), Chief Executive Officer Emeritus, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C.; Mariana Mazzucato (IT), RM Philips Professor, Economics of Innovation, SPRU – Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, Brighton

Technology Symposium, August 25 to 27, 2016
Albert-László Barabási (HU), Robert Gray Dodge Professor of Network Science, Distinguished Professor and Director, Center for Complex Network Research, Northeastern University, Boston; Monica Bello (ES), Head of Arts@CERN; Ray Dorsey (US), David M. Levy Professor of Neurology and Director, Center for Human Experimental Therapeutics, School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Rochester Medical Center; Detlef Günther (DE), Professor for Trace Element and Micro Analysis, Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry and Vice President Research and Corporate Relations, ETH – Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich; Otmar D. Wiestler (DE), President, Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, Berlin; 

Legal Symposium, August 28 to 30, 2016
Koen Lenaerts (BE), President, Court of Justice of the European Union; John-Dylan Haynes (GB), Professor for Theory and Analysis of Large-Scale Brain Signals and Research Group Leader, Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience, Berlin; Thomas Fischer (DE), Presiding Judge, Federal Court of Justice of Germany; Michael O’Flaherty (IE), Director, FRA – European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights

Political Symposium, August 28 to 30, 2016
Michael Roth (DE), German Minister of State for Europe; Sandro Gozi (IT), Italian State Secretary for European Affairs; Pawlo Klimkin (UKR), Urkainian Minister of Foreign Affairs; Miroslav Lajcak (SVK), Slovakian Foreign Minister; Natalie Tocci (IT), Special Advisor to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy; Walter Stevens (BE), Ambassador; Head, PSC – Political and Security Committee, Brussels; Robert Cooper (GB), British Diplomat; Heather Grabbe (GB), Director, Open Society European Policy Institute, Brussels; Mark Leonard, Director, European Council on Foreign Relations; Jan Techau (DE), Director, Carnegie Europe, Brussels; Pascal Lamy (FR), Former Director General, WTO – World Trade Organization; Honorary President, Notre Europe – Jacques Delors Institute, Paris; Jeffrey Sachs (US), Director, The Earth Institute, Columbia University, New York; John Keane (AU), Professor of Politics and Director, Sydney Democracy Network, The University of Sydney; Cathryn Clüver (DE/US), Executive Director, The Future of Diplomacy Project, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University, Cambridge; Paul Dujardin (BE), Chief Executive Officer and Artistic Director, BOZAR – Centre for Fine Arts, Brussels

Economic Symposium, August 30 to September 1, 2016
Günther Oettinger (DE), Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, European Commission, Brussels; Cesar A. Hidalgo (US), Head, Macro Connections Group, Media Lab, MIT – Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA; Faculty Associate, Center for International Development, Harvard University, Boston; Yanis Varoufakis (GR), Economist; Former Greek Finance Minister; Jeannine Pilloud (D), Head, SBB Passenger Traffic and Member, Management Board, SBB AG, Bern; Andrew Keen (GB), Author; Executive Director, salonFutureCast, Santa Rosa, CA; Robin Chase (US), Co-Founder and former CEO of Zipcar; Jeffrey P. Owens (UK), Director, Global Tax Policy Center, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Yingtai Lung (TW), Professor, University of Hong Kong, former Minister of Culture, Taiwan

Financial Market Symposium, Steptember 1 to 2, 2016
Yanis Varoufakis (GR), Economist; Former Greek Finance Minister; Paul Mason (UK), Journalist and Author; Bernd Lucke (DE), Economist and Politician; Aquiles Almansi (AR), Lead Financial Sector Expert, World Bank; Daniela Schwarzer (DE), Director, Europe Program, GMF – The German Marshall Fund of the United States, Berlin; Holger Schmieding (DE), Chief Economist, Berenberg Bank; Jutta Steiner (DE), Founder of Ethcore

Built Environment Symposium, Steptember 1 to 2, 2016
Yuri Albert Kyrill Kazepov (IT), Urban Sociologist at the University of Vienna; Hubert Klumpner (CH), Professor for Architecture at ETH Zurich; Markus Miessen (D), Architect and author, Saskia Sassen (US), Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology at Columbia University and Centennial visiting Professor at the London School of Economics

The European Forum Alpbach is pleased to welcome around 700 national and international speakers from academia, business, government and civil society. Check out our Who is Who