to Content
Header Image

PhD Alexander PINES Glenn T. Seaborg Professor of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley; Senior Scientist, Material Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


1972 Ph.D. in Chemical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1987 Professeur Joliot-Curie, Ecole Superiere de Physique et Chemie, Paris
1990 Hinshelwood Professor, Oxford University
1993-1996 President, International Society of Magnetic Resonance
1994 Morris Loeb Lecturer in Physics, Harvard University
1997 Elected to Board of Governors, Weizmann Institute of Science
1999 Lord Todd Professor, Cambridge University
2001 Alan S. Tetelman Fellow, Yale University


National Academy of Sciences, 1988
American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1999
American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2001
Foreign Fellow, The Royal Society, 2002
Foreign Honorable Member, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Society of Japan, 2005


Patents: Proton-Enhanced Cross-Polarization NMR (1974), Zero-Field NMR (1987), Dynamic-Angle Spinning (1990), Double Rotation (1990), NMR/MRI with Hyperpolarized Gas and High Tc SQUID (2000), Enhancement of NMR and MRI in the Presence of Hyperpolarized Noble Gases (2002), Functionalized Active-Nucleus Complex Sensors (2003), Method and Apparatus for High-Resolution Ex-Situ NMR Spectroscopy (2004), Enhancement of NMR and MRI in the Presence of Hyperpolarized Noble Gases (additional improvements 2004), SQUID detected NMR and MRI at Ultralow Fields (2005, additional improvements 2006), Remote NMR/MRI Detection of Laser Polarized Gases (2006).
More than 400 publications
1973 Proton- Enhanced NMR of Dilute Spins in Solids


ACS Leo H Baekeland Medal for Pure Chemistry, 1985
The University of California s Distinguished Teaching Award, 1986
Wolf Prize in Chemistry, 1991
ACS Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics, 1998
Docteur Honoris Causa, University of Paris VI, Pierre et Marie Curie, 1999
ACS Remsen Award, 2000
Docteur Honoris Causa, University of Rome, 2001
Michael Faraday Medal, The Royal Society, U.K., 2003
Glenn T. Seaborg Medal, University of California, Los Angeles, 2003