to Content
Header Image

Dr. Doron LANCET The Ralph D. and Lois R. Silver Professor of Human Genomics; Head, The Crown Human Genome Center, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot


 Prof. Lancet received his B.Sc. Degree in chemistry and physics at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1970. His Ph.D. degree (1978) was in chemical immunology at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, under the supervision of Profs. Pecht and Sela. He obtained postdoctoral training at Harvard University, with Prof. Strominger, on transplantation proteins, and at Yale University, with Prof. Shepherd, on the biology of the sense of smell. Since 1981 he has been on the faculty of the Weizmann Institute of Science, where he is currently Professor at the Department of Molecular Genetics. He headed Weizmann's Department of Membrane Research and Biophysics (1995-97). He pioneered genome research in Israel, and currently is the head of the Crown Human Genome Center at the Weizmann Institute and of Israel's National Laboratory for Genome Infrastructure. His research interests span human genome research, the genetic basis sense of smell, bioinformatics (the merger of biology and computing) and the early evolution of life on earth. Prof. Lancet has pioneered the studies of the molecular basis olfaction, discovering how smell signals are received, amplified and terminated, and how olfactory receptor genes evolve and function. He also developed GeneCards, a world-known digital "encyclopedia" of human genes, also marketed by Xennex. Prof. Lancet teaches graduate courses on Bioinformatics and Computational Genomics, as well as on molecular recognition. He consults to companies in the fields of fragrances and flavors, olfactory security, artificial noses and smell digitization.


European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
Human Genome Organization (HUGO, council member)
European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI)


Lancet received the Hestrin Prize of the Israel Biochemical Society, 1986
the First Takasago Award of the American Association for Chemoreception Sciences, 1986
the USA R.H. Wright Award in Olfactory Research, 1998