to Content
Header Image

Dipl. Arch. Ian RITCHIE Architect, London


1981 Ian Ritchie Architects, London
 co-founded Rice Francis Ritchie (RFR) design engineers Paris
 contributed to internationally renowned projects such as: Jubilee Line Extension, Bermondsey Station, Southwark; International Regatta Centre, Albert Dock, Newham; Ecology Gallery, Natural History Museum, UK; Offices, Stockley Park; Crystal Palace Concert Platform, Bromley; Scotland's Home of Tomorrow, Glasgow; Electricité de France Pylons; Terrasson Cultural Greenhouse; Albert Cultural and Sports Centre; Louvre Sculpture Courts and Pyramids; La Villette Cité des Sciences in Paris; L'Arche Cloud, La Défense; Reina Sofia Museum of Modern Art, Madrid; International Exhibition Centre Glass Hall, Leipzig; City Monument to celebrate 3rd Millenium, Milan; Ireland's National Monument to celebrate the 3rd Millenium
1992-95 visiting Professor at the Technical University of Vienna and Moscow University
 Professor at the Leeds University School of Civil Engineering
 Advisor to the Lord Chancellor, UK Government
 Governor, Royal Shakespeare Company
 Advisor, Ove Arup Foundation
 Emeritus Commissioner, CABE (Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment)


Chairman, Royal Academy of Arts Collections & Library Committee
Member, Royal Academy of Arts Management Committee
Chairman, European UK (European urban & social housing biennial design competition for young architects)
Member, Royal Institute of British Architects
Member, International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE)
Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts


Plymouth Theatre Royal Production Centre, Ian Ritchie Architects, Categorical Books, 2003
Technoecologia, Alessandro Rocca, Motta, Italy 1998
The biggest glass palace in the world (with I. Helsing), Ellipsis 1997
(well) Connected Architecture, Academy Editions, UK 1994 (German translation available)


1999 Millenium Product Awards (2)
2000 IABSE International Outstanding Structure Award
2003 AIA Award
2003 RIBA Award
2003 RFAC Trust Building of the Year