to Content
Header Image

Dr. Richard DAWKINS Charles Simonyi Professor of the Public Understanding of Science, Oxford University


1959-1962 Balliol College, University of Oxford
1962-1966 Research Student, Oxford University, D.Phil., 1966
1965-1967 Research Assistant to Professor N.Tinbergen FRS
1967-1969 Assistant Professor of Zoology at the University of California at Berkeley
1969-1970 Senior Research Officer, Department of Zoology, Oxford
1970-1990 Lecturer in Zoology at Oxford University and Fellow of New College
1989 D.Sc. (Oxford)
1990-1995 Ad-hominem-Reader in Zoology, University of Oxford
since 1995 Charles-Simonyi-Professor of the Public Understanding of Science, University of Oxford, and
  Professorial Fellow of New College


Council Member, Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour, 1972-1979
Science Consultative Committee, British Broadcasting Corporation, 1986-1991
Member, British Museum Development Trust Council, 2001
Board of Advisors, TIME Future of Life Summit, 2003
Chairman for Michael Faraday Award Selection Committee, 2003
David Attenborough Studio Committee, Natural History Museum London, 2005


The Selfish Gene, Oxford University Press (also published in 13 foreign translations), Oxford and New York, 1976
The Extended Phenotype, Oxford University Press, Oxford and San Francisco, 1982
River Out of Eden, Basic Books, New York, Weidenfeld, London, 1995
Climbing Mount Improbable, Viking Penguin, London, W. W. Norton, New York, 1996
Unweaving the Rainbow, Allen Lane, Penguin Press, London, Houghton Mifflin, New York, 1998
A Devil s Chaplain, Weidenfeld &Nicholson, London, Houghton Mifflin, New York, 2003
The Ancestor s Tale, Weidenfeld &Nicholson, London, Houghton Mifflin, New York, 2004


Royal Society of Literature Award for The Blind Watchmaker, 1987
Los Angeles Times Literary Prize, for The Blind Watchmaker, 1987
Zoological Society of London Silver Medal, 1989
Royal Society of London, Michael Faraday Award, 1990
Humanist of the Year Award, 1996
Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, 1997
Kistler Prize, USA, 2001
Shakespeare Prize for Contribution to British Culture, Hamburg, Germany, 2005