to Content
Header Image

Ph.D. Roger Y. TSIEN Nobel Laureate in Chemistry; Professor of Pharmacology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, San Diego


1972 Received his A.B. in Chemistry and Physics, Harvard College
1977 Ph.D. in Physiology, University of Cambridge
 until 1981 Research Fellow, University of Cambridge
1981 First Assistant, Associate, then full Professor, University of California, Berkeley
1989 Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Professor, Departments of Pharmacology and of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego
1996 Scientific Co-founder, Aurora Biosciences Corporation, which went public in 1997
1998 Scientific Co-founder, Senomyx Inc., which went public in 2004
 Dr. Tsien is best known for designing and building molecules that either report or perturb signal transduction inside living cells. These molecules, created by organic synthesis or by engineering naturally fluorescent proteins, have enabled many new insights into signaling via calcium, sodium, pH, cyclic nucleotides, nitric oxide, inositol polyphosphates, membrane and redox potential changes, protein phosphorylation, active export of proteins from the nucleus, and gene transcription. He is now developing new ways to target contrast agents and therapeutic agents to tumor cells and atherosclerotic plaques based on their expression of extracellular proteases.


Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Associate Member, European Molecular Biology Organization
Foreign Member, Royal Society
Academician, Academia Sinica


First Prize, Westinghouse Science Talent Search, 1968
Searle Scholar Award, 1983
Artois-Baillet-Latour Health Prize, 1995
Gairdner Foundation International Award, 1995
Award for Creative Invention from the American Chemical Society, 2002
Heineken Prize in Biochemistry and Biophysics, 2002
Wolf Prize in Medicine (shared with Robert Weinberg), 2004
Rosenstiel Award, 2006
E.B. Wilson Medal of the American Society for Cell Biology (shared with M. Chalfie), 2008
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (shared with O. Shimomura and M. Chalfie), 2008