to Content
Header Image

Ph.D. Marcia MCNUTT Editor-in-Chief, Science; President, National Academy of Science, Washington, D.C.


1978 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, San Diego
1978-1979 Visiting Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
1979-1982 Geophysicist, Branch of Tectonophysics, Office of Earthquake Studies, U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, California
1982-1986 Assistant Professor of Geophysics, Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA
1986 Associate Professor of Geophysics, EAPS, MIT, Cambridge, MA
1989-1998 Professor of Geophysics, EAPS, MIT, Cambridge, MA
1993-1995 Associate Director, MIT SeaGrant College Program, Cambridge, MA
1995-1997 Director, MIT/WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography and Applied Ocean Science and Engineering, Cambridge, MA
1997-2009 President; Chief Executive Officer, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, Menterey, CA
1998-2009 Professor, Department of Earth Science, UC Santa Cruz
Professor of Geophysics, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
2009-2013 Director, US Geological Survey, Reston Virginia
2013-2013 Visiting Research Scientist, Scripps Institution of Oceanography/IGPP, San Diego
2013-2016 Editor-in-Chief, Science, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C.
since 2015 Professor, Georgetown University, Washington, DC.
since 2016 President, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.


American Academy of Arts and Sciences
American Philosophical Society
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Academia Europaea


Jane Lubchenco, Marcia McNutt, G. Dreyfus, S. Murawski, D. Kennedy, Paul Anastas, Science in support of the Deepwater Horizon event an introduction, Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci.,
McNutt, Marcia, Steven Chu, Jane Lubchenco, Tom Hunter, Gabrielle Dreyfus, Steven Murawski, and David Kennedy, Applications of science and engineering to quantify and control the Deepwater Horizon oil spill, Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci.
McNutt, Marcia, Kerstin Lehnert, Brooks Hanson, Brian A. Nosek, Aaron M. Ellison, and John Leslie King, Liberating field science data and samples, Science 04 Mar 2016: 351 (6277), 1024-1026.
Victoria Stodden, Marcia McNutt, David H. Bailey, Ewa Deelman, Yolanda Gil, Brooks Hanson, Michael A. Heroux, John P.A. Ioannidis, Michela Taufer, Enhancing Reproducibility for computational methods, Science, 09 Dec 2016: 354 (6317), 1240-1241.


Macelwane Award, American Geophysical Union
Maurice Ewing Medal, American Geophysical Union
Meritorious Service Medal, US Coast Guard
Doctor of Medicine, honoris causa, Uppsala University