FAQs


Über das EFA

WAS IST DAS EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH UND WAS IST UNSERE MISSION?

Das European Forum Alpbach ist eine Plattform, die Ideen für ein selbstbestimmtes und demokratisches Europa vorantreibt. Junge Menschen und aufstrebende Führungskräfte kommen mit den innovativsten Köpfen, Entscheidungsträger:innen und Expert:innen der Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kultur aus der ganzen Welt zusammen, um an einer gemeinsamen Mission zu arbeiten.

Die Solidarität der Menschen in Europa hat heute angesichts der geopolitischen Situation eine nie dagewesene Intensität erreicht. Es war genau dieses Verlangen nach Miteinander, nach Einheit und Frieden, das junge Menschen schon vor vielen Jahrzehnten dazu bewogen hat, das European Forum Alpbach ins Leben zu rufen und Europa nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg neu aufzubauen. Dieser Gründungsgedanke ist heute wichtiger denn je: Gerade jetzt ist es essenziell, dass wir gemeinsam Europa stärken und generationenübergreifend die Zukunft unseres Kontinents, unsere Zukunft, neu denken und formen.

WER IST DIE ZIELGRUPPE DES EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH?

Alpbach ist ein Ort für diejenigen, die Europa zum Besseren verändern wollen, und für diejenigen, die es tun können.

Unser Ziel ist es die nächste Generation von Führungskräften in Europa mit den innovativsten Köpfen, Entscheidungsträger:innen und Expert:innen aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Kultur und Gesellschaft zusammenbringen.

Die verschiedenen Gruppen bestehen aus eingeladenen Akteur:innen, Künstler:innen, Partner:innen, Mitarbeiter:innen, Freiwilligen des Organisationsteams, Stipendiat:innen und Teilnehmer:innen.

WER STEHT HINTER DEM EUROPEAN FORUM ALPACH UND TRIFFT DIE ENTSCHEIDUNGEN?

Der Verein lebt von zahlreichen Persönlichkeiten, die sich, mit Ausnahme des Organisationsteams, ehrenamtlich für das European Forum Alpbach engagieren. In verschiedenen Gremien setzen Sie sich dafür ein, dass unsere Aktivitäten und Veranstaltungen anspruchsvoll, relevant und im Sinne unseres Leitbildes programmiert werden. Das European Forum Alpbach wird vom Vorstand geführt. Das Organisationsteam ist für die Umsetzung aller Aktivitäten verantwortlich. Bei der Auswahl der Themen und Vortragenden unterstützen das Kuratorium und der Internationale Beirat. Darüber hinaus engagieren sie sich für den kontinuierlichen Aufbau unserer internationalen Netzwerke. Die allgemeinen Richtlinien für die Tätigkeiten des Vereins werden vom Rat und den Mitgliedern festgelegt. Die zahlreichen Alpbacher Alumnivereine, vereint im Forum Alpbach Network, sind durch gewählte Repräsentant:innen in allen Gremien des European Forum Alpbach vertreten.

WIE FINANZIERT SICH DAS FORUM ALPBACH UND WO FINDE ICH INFORMATIONEN ZUR FINANZIELLEN TRANSPARENZ?

Wir finanzieren uns aus Teilnahme- und Mitgliedsbeiträgen, Beiträgen von Sponsor:innen und aus öffentlichen Mitteln. Unsere gemeinnützige Privatstiftung ist für das Stipendienprogramm verantwortlich, das mithilfe privater Förderer jedes Jahr jungen Menschen aus aller Welt die Teilnahme am European Forum Alpbach ermöglicht.

Kennzahlen finden Sie im Jahresbericht des Forums.

Allgemeine Fragen

WAS TRÄGT DAS FORUM ZUM KLIMA- UND UMWELTSCHUTZ BEI?

Green Meeting Alpbach ist ein Projekt des European Forum Alpbach und des Congress Centrum Alpbach. Ziel ist es, die Veranstaltung nachhaltiger und ökologisch verantwortungsvoller zu gestalten. Im Juli 2010 wurden das European Forum Alpbach und das Congress Centrum Alpbach als erste Veranstaltungen mit dem österreichischen Umweltzeichen für Green Meetings ausgezeichnet.

Einige unserer Maßnahmen sind:

  • umweltfreundliche Drucksorten (Umweltzeichen zertifiziert)
  • recyceltes Büropapier
  • Nutzung und Empfehlung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
  • direkter kostenloser Shuttleservice zum Bahnhof Wörgl und zurück mit Anschluss an den Fernverkehr
  • kostenloser Shuttleservice von Alpbach zu den Unterkünften am Abend
  • E-Fahrzeuge und Hybridmodelle als Fahrzeuge
  • Verpflegung mit Produkten aus regionaler und biologischer Produktion und fair gehandelten Produkten
  • energieeffiziente IT
  • Mülltrennung

IST DAS EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH BARRIEREFREI ZUGÄNGLICH?

Das European Forum Alpbach findet in einem Bergdorf mit steilen Straßen statt und ist daher für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität schwierig. Das Congress Centrum Alpbach ist jedoch barrierefrei zu erreichen. Bitte setzen Sie sich mit dem EFA-Personal in Verbindung, wenn Sie Unterstützung benötigen. Für körperlich eingeschränkte Personen bieten wir einen Abholservice von der Unterkunft an. Für diesbezügliche Vorschläge sind wir jederzeit offen.

Die Veranstaltung wird nicht in Gebärdensprache gedolmetscht, und wir bieten derzeit keine zusätzlichen Hörgeräte für Menschen mit Hörbehinderungen an. Das European Forum Alpbach hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Barrierefreiheit zu verbessern, damit alle Menschen uneingeschränkt am Forum teilnehmen können.

IST DIESE WEBSITE FÜR BILDSCHIRMLESEGERÄTE FÜR SEHBEHINDERTE MENSCHEN GEEIGNET?

Diese Website ist so konzipiert, dass sie auch von Menschen mit Sehbehinderungen genutzt werden kann. Dazu gehört die Verwendung hoher Kontraste, verständlicher Sprache und Bildschirmlesbarkeit. Die getroffenen Maßnahmen entsprechen einer AA-Zertifizierung. Wir arbeiten ständig an Verbesserungen und freuen uns über Ihre Vorschläge.

ICH BIN VERTRETER:IN EINES UNTERNEHMENS UND WÜRDE GERNE PARTNER:IN DES FORUMS WERDEN, WAS MUSS ICH TUN?

Wir freuen uns sehr über Ihr Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Anfrage an office@alpbach.org.

WIE REAGIERT DAS EFA IM FALLE VON BELÄSTIGUNG ODER KONFLIKTEN?

Alle Teilnehmer:innen des EFA (einschließlich Partner, Stipendiat:innen und Mitarbeiter:innen) erklären sich mit dem EFA-Verhaltenskodex einverstanden. Von jedem wird erwartet, dass er/sie sich während des EFA zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort professionell und angemessen verhalten. Während des EFA ist eine Ombudsperson (ohne Verbindung zum EFA) anwesend, die bei Verstößen oder Konflikten vermittelt. Sie können die EFA-Ombudsperson während der Veranstaltung unter folgender E-Mail Adresse erreichen: ombudsperson@alpbach.org

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: Code of Conduct

Forum 2022

WANN FINDET DAS EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH DIESES JAHR STATT?

Das European Forum Alpbach findet dieses Jahr vom 21. August bis zum 2. September 2022 statt. Die offizielle Eröffnung des Forums ist am 22. August 2022.

WIE WIRD FÜR MEINE SICHERHEIT UND GESUNDHEIT BEIM EUROPÄISCHEN FORUM ALPBACH 2022 GESORGT?

Die Sicherheit und Gesundheit aller Teilnehmer:innen des Forums Alpbach hat absolute Priorität. Wir kennen alle Regierungsbeschlüsse bezüglich der aktuellen Corona-Pandemie und werden uns strikt an diese Vorschriften halten. Vor Ort wird die Veranstaltung mit den notwendigen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen durchgeführt. Das EFA steht in ständigem Austausch mit der Gemeinde Alpbach und den örtlichen Gesundheitsbehörden.

WIE VIELE PERSONEN WERDEN AM EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH 2022 TEILNEHMEN?

Wir freuen uns, Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass wir vom 21. August bis zum 2. September bis zu 4.000 Teilnehmer:innen, darunter Akteur:innen, Stipendiat:innen sowie Kooperationspartner:innen, unter Einhaltung der geltenden Sicherheitsbestimmungen begrüßen können.

GIBT ES IM EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH KOSTENLOSE VERANSTALTUNGEN?

Die Teilnahme an der regionalen Eröffnung - dem Tirol-Tag - am 21. August ist kostenlos. Eine Registrierung ist allerdings notwendig. Bitte beantragen Sie das kostenlose Ticket im Ticketshop.

ICH BIN DER/DIE ORGANISATOR:IN EINER PARTNERVERANSTALTUNG, DIE JEDES JAHR IN ALPBACH STATTFINDET. IST ES MÖGLICH, DIESES JAHR EIN SOCIAL EVENT ZU ORGANISIEREN?

Social Events können nur im Rahmen einer Partnerschaft mit dem European Forum Alpbach durchgeführt werden. Als Hauptveranstalter sind wir dafür verantwortlich, dass die geltenden gesetzlichen Bestimmungen und unsere eigenen Sicherheits- und Präventionskonzepte umgesetzt werden. Die Organisation von Social Events muss daher in enger Abstimmung mit uns geplant werden. Wenn Sie Interesse an der Ausrichtung eines Events haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an office@alpbach.org.

ICH HABE VON EINLADUNGEN ZU PARTNERVERANSTALTUNGEN GEHÖRT, DIE WÄHREND DES FORUMS IN ALPBACH STATTFINDEN ODER BIN SELBST EINGELADEN WORDEN. WAS HAT ES DAMIT AUF SICH?

Die Teilnahme an Social Events des EFA ist anmeldepflichtig, um die geltenden gesetzlichen Bestimmungen und unserer eigenes Sicherheits- und Präventionskonzept zu gewährleisten. Weitere Informationen zur Teilnahme vor Ort finden Sie in den Ticket FAQs.

ICH BIN EIN/E AKTEUR:IN, MODERATOR:IN ODER MEDIENVERTRETER:IN ETC. UND WÜRDE GERNE MEIN KIND NACH ALPBACH MITNEHMEN. GIBT ES KINDERBETREUUNG WÄHREND DEM FORUM?

Es wird Kinderbetreuung für Kinder im Alter von 2-7 Jahren von EFA Teilnehmern geben. Wenn Sie Ihr Kind anmelden möchten, setzen Sie sich bitte mit Ihrer EFA-Ansprechperson in Verbindung.

Journalists and Media Prepresantatives

ICH BIN PRESSEVERTRETER:IN UND BRAUCHE INFORMATIONEN – WEN KONTAKTIERE ICH?

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Presse.

IST ES ALS JOURNALIST:IN MÖGLICH EINE AKKREDITIERUNG FÜR DAS FORUM 2022 ZU BEKOMMEN?

Ja, es ist möglich. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Presse.

WIRD ES EINEN RAUM FÜR INTERVIEWS IN ALPBACH GEBEN?

Ja, es wird einen Presseraum für Interviews in Alpbach geben. Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte presse@alpbach.org.

FAQs


About the EFA

WHAT IS THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH, AND WHAT IS ITS PURPOSE?

We are convinced that a single nation can’t solve any of the issues we face in Europe today. We need to save our security, our democracy, our climate, education, the financing of our future and the creation of wealth for all. There is just one way to tackle these problems that face us: to work on them together. We need to build a true union, a union of security, an environmental union, a union of education and science, a data union, a network union, a banking and capital markets union and, to secure them all, we need to build a defence union.

A lot of work. A lot more to do. For this, Europe needs us all. It needs its youngest and brightest, its most experienced, loudest and most daring. It needs you.

To make this transformation a reality, we meet at the place where the idea of a united Europe was first shared between likeminded people. The place where its future will, again, be designed: the European Forum Alpbach.

Nestled in the midst of the Austrian Alps, the charm of this quaint town and the grandeur of the surrounding scenery inspire us to generate the ideas and initiate the conversations that will spark action for Europe’s future. Its forward-thinking spirit stimulates year-round events throughout Europe and culminates in the interdisciplinary international forum each summer.

WHO IS THE TARGET AUDIENCE OF THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH?

Alpbach is a place for those who want to change Europe for the better, and for those who can do it.

Our aim is to create inspirational experiences by connecting Europe’s next generation of leadership with the most innovative minds, decision-makers and experts from politics, economy, science, culture and civil society.

The various groups of attendees consist of invited contributors such as speakers and artists, partners, employees and volunteers of the organisational team, scholarship holders and ordinary participants.

WHO STANDS BEHIND THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH AND MAKES THE DECISIONS?

The European Forum Alpbach is a non-profit association based in Vienna, Austria. Our association is made up of numerous personalities who, with the exception of the organising team, work for the Forum Alpbach on a voluntary basis. They are involved in various committees and are committed to ensuring that our activities and events are of high quality and relevance as well as programmed in line with our mission statement.

The EFA is managed by the Executive Board. The organising team works on the programme and additionally ensures that all events and the scholarship programme are well coordinated. The Scientific Advisory as well as the International Advisory Board support programming our events. The Council and the General Assembly determine guidelines for the activities of the association and the programme design. The voice of the numerous independent Alpbach alumni associations is represented by an elected coordination team in all committees of the European Forum Alpbach.

HOW IS THE FORUM ALPBACH FINANCED?

We are financed by participation and member fees, contributions by sponsors and by public funds. Our non-profit private foundation is responsible for the scholarship programme which – with the help of private supporters – enables young people from all over the world to participate in the European Forum Alpbach each year.

Information on our finances can be found in the respective annual report of the Forum.

General Questions

WHAT IS THE FORUM DOING FOR CLIMATE PROTECTION AND THE ENVIRONMENT?

Green Meeting Alpbach is a project of the European Forum Alpbach and the Congress Centrum Alpbach. The aim is to make our event more sustainable and ecologically responsible. In July 2010, the European Forum Alpbach and the Congress Centrum Alpbach were the first events to be awarded the Austrian eco-label for Green Meetings.

Some of our measures are:

  • environmentally friendly prints (eco-label certified)
  • recycled office paper
  • use and recommendation of public transport and climate-neutral travel
  • direct free shuttle service to Wörgl train station and back with connection to the long-distance train service
  • evening free shuttle service from Alpbach to the accommodations
  • e-vehicles and hybrid models as vehicles
  • electric bike rental for our participants
  • catering with products from regional and organic production and fair-trade products
  • energy-efficient IT
  • waste separation

IS THE EVENT BARRIER-FREE?

The European Forum Alpbach takes place in a mountain village with steep roads and thus causes difficulties for people with impaired mobility. However, the Congress Centrum Alpbach is barrier-free in terms of mobility. Please get in contact with EFA staff if you need assistance. We offer a pick-up service from the accommodation for physically handicapped persons. We are always open to suggestions in this regard.

The event will not be interpreted in sign-language, and we currently do not offer additional hearing devices for people with hearing impairments. The European Forum Alpbach is striving to make improvements in terms of accessibility so that everyone can enjoy the Forum and take part in all events.

DOES THIS WEBSITE COMPLY WITH SCREEN READERS FOR VISUALLY IMPAIRED PEOPLE?

This website is built to help impaired people understand its content. This includes the use of high contrasts, understandable language and screen readability. The measures undertaken correspond to an AA certification. We are constantly working on improvements and therefore are pleased to receive your comments.

I REPRESENT A COMPANY AND WOULD LIKE TO BECOME A PARTNER OF THE FORUM: WHERE DO I GO?

We are very pleased about your interest in a cooperation. Please send your enquiry to office@alpbach.org.

IN CASE OF HARASSMENT OR CONFLICTS, HOW DOES THE EFA REACT?

All participants of the EFA (including partners, scholarship holders, staff) agree to the EFA Code of Conduct. Professional and appropriate behaviour is expected of everyone at all times and places during the EFA. During the EFA, an ombudsperson (with no affiliation to EFA) is present and available to mediate in the event of any violations or conflicts. You can reach the EFA ombudsperson during the event via e-mail: ombudsperson@alpbach.org

More information here: Code of Conduct

Forum 2022

WHEN WILL THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH TAKE PLACE THIS YEAR?

The European Forum Alpbach will take place from 21 August to 2 September, 2022. The official opening of the Forum will take place on 22 August, 2022.

HOW WILL YOU TAKE CARE OF SECURITY AND HEALTH AT THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH 2022?

The security and health of all contributors at the Forum Alpbach have absolute priority. We are aware of all Governmental decisions with regards to the ongoing Corona pandemic and will strictly comply with these regulations. On site, the event will take place with necessary security measures. The Forum Alpbach is in constant exchange with the community of Alpbach and the local health institutions.

HOW MANY PEOPLE WILL ATTEND THE EUROPEAN FORUM ALPBACH 2022?

In accordance with the currently applicable safety regulations, we are happy to announce that from 21 August to 2 September we will be welcoming up to 4,000 participants, including speakers, scholarship holders and cooperation partners.

DOES THE FORUM 2022 HAVE EVENTS THAT ARE FREE OF CHARGE?

Attending the regional opening – Tyrol Day – on 21 August will be free of charge. However, a free-of-charge ticket will still have to be requested in the ticket shop.

I AM THE ORGANISER OF A PARTNER EVENT WHICH OCCURS EACH YEAR IN ALPBACH. IS IT POSSIBLE TO HOST A SOCIAL EVENT THIS YEAR?

Social events can only be hosted as part of a partnership with the European Forum Alpbach. As the main organiser, we have a responsibility to ensure that current legal regulations and our own security and prevention concepts are implemented. As a result, the organisation of social events must be planned in close coordination with us. If you are interested in hosting a social event, please reach out to office@alpbach.org.

I HAVE HEARD ABOUT INVITATIONS TO PARTNER EVENTS THAT TAKE PLACE DURING THE FORUM IN ALPBACH OR I HAVE BEEN INVITED MYSELF. WHAT IS THIS ALL ABOUT?

The participation in any social event during the Forum in Alpbach requires registration in order to ensure the correct implementation of the current legal regulations and of our own security and prevention concept. For further information regarding on-site participation, please have a look at the Ticket FAQs.

I AM SPECIFICALLY INVITED TO THE FORUM BECAUSE I AM A SPEAKER, MODERATOR OR MEDIA REPRESENTATIVE ETC. AND WOULD LIKE TO TAKE MY CHILDREN ALONG. WILL THERE BE CHILD CARE POSSIBILITIES?

There will be a children’s programme for children (age 2–7) of contributors of the EFA. If you’re interested to register your child, please get in contact with your EFA contact person.

Journalists and Media Prepresantatives

I REPRESENT A MEDIA ORGANISATION AND WOULD LIKE INFORMATION. WHO DO I CONTACT?

Please head over to Press for more information.

IS IT POSSIBLE FOR JOURNALISTS TO GET AN ACCREDITATION FOR THE FORUM 2022?

Yes, this is possible. Please head over to Press for more information.

IS THERE GOING TO BE A ROOM FOR INTERVIEWS IN ALPBACH?

Yes, there will be a press room available for interviews in Alpbach. For further details please contact presse@alpbach.org.